Classical Music

MACCO Concert

Earlier this month, a new-to-Columbus chamber orchestra, the McConnell Arts Center Chamber Orchestra under the direction of Maestro Antoine Clark, performed a free outdoor concert at the McConnell Arts Center in Worthington, Ohio. Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to attend in person, but I was lucky enough to be able to listen to part of their performance thanks to some modern technology!

This first number is the Hoe-down from Rodeo by Aaron Copland. I LOVE the hammered dulcimer in this. It’s not an instrument I’ve ever seen outside a renaissance festival or a recording of Banshee in the Kitchen.  but Mark Wade sounds absolutely fantastic here! Such an excellent addition to this performance.

The second piece is an old standby that is by my favorite composer: Wolfgang A. Mozart – Eine Kleine Nachtmusik. My favorite in this piece will always be the 4th movement, but even if you’re not a huge fan of classical music, I know you’ll enjoy this first movement!

Did you hear the little kids playing in the background? I love it that people of all ages have access to this kind of music, don’t you?

Leave a Reply

