Classical Music

10 thoughts on “What Would You Recommend?

  1. 1. Vivaldi’s Four Seasons. It’s beautiful and it’s a nice “gentle” piece. Very melodic, nothing too weird.
    2. YoYo Ma’s Cello Concertos. That man. I do not care what he plays, I will listen. Just amazing talent, not only technically but there’s so much love behind his playing.
    3. Beethoven’s Ninth Symphony, complete with choir. Makes me tingle every time.

    OK so as far as classical music goes, I’m pretty mainstream. 🙂

  2. Here are my top 5 suggestions:
    Vivaldi’s The Four Seasons
    Bach’s Brandenburger Concertos
    Handel’s Water Music
    Mozart’s Eine Kleine Nachtmusik
    Beethoven’s Symphony no. 5

  3. What the others suggested but…then there;s
    Bach’s “Goldberg Variations” (preferably played by Glenn Gould);
    Handel’s “Music for the Royal Fireworks”;
    Aaron Copeland’s “Appalachian Spring”;
    Raif (Ralph) Vaughan Williams’ “A Lark Ascending”;
    Gershwin’s “Rhapsody in Blue” and/or “American in Paris”.

  4. It depends on what the person likes to listen to in other styles. I don’t believe there’s a set of five or ten “safe” choices or that an intro to classical music needs to be limited to them. Notably, I have a friend who was and is into heavy metal rock; his favorite classical composers are Strauss, Schreker, Zemlinsky, other composers of their era, and loud recent music. And I know someone whose intro to opera was the Norwegian Radio Symphony live production of Goetterdaemmerung, which to be perfectly honest, sucks except for Kirsten Flagstad and maybe one other singer on the set.

    There’s just no telling what people will like. I believe what’s most important is the enthusiasm of the person who says “I think you might like this.” Or “LISTEN TO THIS!!!”

    My most-given-to-friends recording is Hesperion XXI’s Villancicos y Danzas Criollas, which is 17th c. music from Spain and the New World. Honestly – I like to give people new to classical music some Boulez before they read anything that might prejudice them against him. 🙂

    • Boulez definitely stirs up one’s emotions, that’s for darned sure! And you’re right – I’d make different recommendations to some friends of mine than I would to my parents!!

  5. just check the music could move your friend or impressed him or her even BOULEZ WAGNER and don’t find symphony which too long may let people feel boring just piece

    • Peace is definitely a good thing. Funny, I just spoke to a cellist last weekend who told me that he hopes people who listen to the symphony find exactly that: peace. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

