Classical Music

Looking Forward

2014 is going to be a fun year. I’m really looking forward to all the music I’m going to hear – whether it be live concerts in places like Columbus or Chattanooga or something I discover online while checking out 24 new (to me) composers in my Passport to Composers series that I’m starting up in another week or two. Before I jump ahead though, I’d like to say thank you to all the folks who have taken the time to read or even comment on my blog.

Thanks as well to anyone along the way who recommended other blogs to check out in order to help me learn more about the classical music business (Adaptistration and Iron Tongue of Midnight were two main ones recommended, though I’ve since discovered more!). I’m even very thankful for those who told me (when I first started and added what I thought was a cool picture as a background) that the picture may be cool, but it takes forever to open the page. (Oops. Thanks, Drew!)

Giocosity is a new blog as of June of 2013, but even though it’s young, I thought it would be fun to summarize my top posts for 2013 and where folks are visiting my blog.

It’s been tough getting the word out especially knowing I’m just writing for fun as a patron and fan as opposed to writing from the perspective of someone in the industry such as a musician, staff member or consultant. Fortunately, I’ve never claimed to be an expert – just someone who enjoys writing about my concert experiences and learning about the great music being performed along the way – so I imagine more readers will come with time.

Looking at my top ten posts, folks definitely seemed to enjoy French Horn Week as four of my top ten posts were from that fun project.

1. Minnesota Orchestra: Links – summarizes some of the posts written by industry professionals.

2. Soul of an Orchestra – My last post of French Horn week

3. Survey Results: Donate? Or Not? – Part I – Gives an idea of the effort required to make an online donation to the CSO

4. The Show Must Go On – What a wonderful performance by Philippe Quint and the ProMusica Chamber Orchestra

5. Minnesota Orchestra Musicians: Let Them Play! – My Labor Day contribution

6. Julia Rose – Associate Principal French Horn – My profile of one of the fabulous French horn players with the CSO. Hers was my first ever interview. Thanks, Julia!

7. …But the Chopin Was Amazing! – It really was! Dr. Nicholas Ross played Chopin’s Piano Concerto #1 excellently well!

8. Not Your Average Concert-Goer – Classical music fans don’t all come in the same packaging!

9. Don’t Look ‘Em in the Eyes! – My introductory post of French Horn Week.

10. Gene Standley – Principal French Horn – My profile of the CSO’s principal horn player. The last of my horn player interviews – one of the nicest people you’ll ever meet!

Honorable mention: #11: 🙂 Westerville Symphony Concert – My first time hearing the Westerville Symphony Orchestra at a wonderful venue at Alum Creek Park in Westerville. I even enjoyed the Khachaturian!

Where are they?

I’m in the US and I’m writing in English, so the vast majority of my readers are from the US.  Makes sense, right? After that, #2-10 countries are: Canada, UK, France, Germany, Russia, Australia, Latvia, Spain and Norway.

Honorable mention: #11 🙂 Japan

What to expect in 2014

2014 will be fun.  Starting later this month, I’ll post my first offering on my Passport to Composers series where I will feature one composer from every country I’ve either lived in or visited. Having served in the Peace Corps, I like to venture off the beaten path, so the composer I choose to profile won’t always be first one you think of when a country like Austria or Germany is mentioned.

I look forward to enjoying more concerts by the Columbus Symphony Orchestra, but also by other ensembles such as Early Music in Columbus, Westerville Symphony Orchestra, ProMusica Chamber Orchestra or, a little further off my locally beaten path, the Chattanooga Symphony Orchestra.

Locally I hope to expand a little bit as well and work my way out to the New Albany Symphony Orchestra – plus, I have yet to make it to a concert at Ohio State, but that’s primarily due to my funky work hours. If I don’t get out on time (which I rarely do), I can never make it to concerts during the week which is a bummer since there’s so much great music being played! Definitely something I hope to remedy in the new year!

I hope to expand on my interviewing as well. I’m already working on setting up some interviews with some soloists and conductors. Plus, I interviewed composer Michael Torke before the holidays, so I’ll be posting that pretty soon. He’s got some fabulous music out there, for sure!

Who knows what’s in store for Giocosity?! What will be my top posts in 2014? Heck if I know, but I do look forward to having lots of musical fun! I look forward to hearing from you as well via your comments and questions left for me here.

So with that in mind, as they say in my adopted country of Bulgaria:

Честита нова година, приятели! Желая ви добро здраве, много щастие и късмет през новата година!!

Happy New Year, friends!  I wish you good health, much happiness and fortune in the new year!

Leave a Reply

