Columbus Symphony Orchestra

CSO – This Weekend!

This weekend marks the start of the 2013-2014 Masterworks series schedule with the Columbus Symphony Orchestra.  Yeah, sure that sounds all formal and all, but it just means that the really good classical music concerts are starting up!  Yea!

My friend, Sarah, and I have tickets for Saturday night’s concert where we’re going to hear Rachmaninoff’s Piano Concerto #2.

Or, in French horn speak, we’re going to hear Brahms’ Symphony #4!

The Rachmaninoff – oh man – it’s such a gorgeous work for the piano. I know nothing of the pianist, Maxim Mogilevsky, but I can’t wait to hear him play. Here’s what’s on the program for this Saturday.


Jean-Marie Zeitouni, conductor

Maxim Mogilevsky, piano


RACHMANINOFF,  Piano Concerto No. 2
BRAHMS,  Symphony No. 4

Perhaps the most beloved of all piano concertos, Rachmaninoff’s second overflows with appealing Russian-flavored melodies, heady emotions, and dazzling solo virtuosity. The last of Brahms’ symphonies sums up that magnificent composer’s life with waves of warmth, nostalgia, regret, defiance, and joy.

Last weekend was the season opener at which Mahler’s Symphony #2, “Resurrection” was played.  It had the entire symphony, the Columbus Symphony Chorus and a couple of soloists on stage performing. According to the review, the CSO did a great job on the performance. Of course, the reviewer also let her feelings about the Ohio Theatre acoustics be known: not the best, but from what I understand, she’s most definitely not alone. Everyone says the acoustics in the Southern Theatre are much better.  It’s just too small a venue to fit that many performers on stage.

Here’s a link to the full Dispatch review if you’d like to read it: Symphony Opens with Mahler — Not for the Faint of Heart

The concert starts at 8pm this Saturday.  We’ll be up in the rear balcony, so we hope to see you there!

Oh – and if you’re a football loving Buckeye fan, the Bucks aren’t playing this weekend.  It’s a bye week, so no excuses.  Get a ticket and hear some fabulous music!  Come on – live a little!  🙂

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s