Columbus Symphony Orchestra

Bring on the Horns!

French horn week starts on Monday, so I thought I’d get you ready for what’s to come! Let the sounding of the horns begin!

I couldn’t resist putting that in there, especially since the French horn originally got its start as a hunting horn!

Next week’s going to be a lot of fun because – thanks very much to the gracious help and hospitality of the Columbus Symphony Orchestra’s horn players – I’m going to share what I’ve learned about their wonderful instruments.

I’m also going to introduce you to the CSO’s French horn players themselves, so you can get to know the real people behind some of the beautiful music we all enjoy at concerts.

Or that you will soon enjoy if you’re working on becoming a CSO first timer!

Here’s the plan for next week: 

We’re going to start by talking about the French horn itself – where it came from, what people think, some trivia and basics about this beautiful instrument. When I asked some friends to tell me what they thought when they heard someone say “French horn”, the first things I heard about were pastries and cocktails, so by all means – I’m including those, too, but the real focus is on the music.

Starting later on Monday morning, we’re going to meet our first – and newest – horn player, Erin Lano. Then on Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday, we’re going to meet the rest of the section: Adam Koch, Julia Rose and Principal, Gene Standley. Finally on Friday, we’re going to get into the more serious side of things and learn their thoughts on leadership and where they hope to see the orchestra in the next few years. Naturally, I’ll include some great music for you to try!

MONDAY

Don’t Look ’em in the Eyes!: Who said you should never eyeball a horn player? Find out on Monday!

 Erin Lano: Ask her about Chloe!

TUESDAY

Adam Koch: Invite him to dinner – as the chef!

WEDNESDAY

Julia Rose: Has a new baby girl!

THURSDAY

Gene Standley: Great vinyl collection!

FRIDAY

Soul of the Orchestra: Bringing it all together – thoughts on and samples of great music, hopes for the future

Interspersed throughout the week will be comments from conductors, professors and even the next generation of horn players, so I hope you’ll join us next week. I especially hope you’ll let me know what you think by leaving comments and sharing this with your friends as well.

And on a side note, no pun intended…

I don’t work for the Columbus Symphony Orchestra nor do I work in any part of the music industry. I just love music and have been fortunate enough to have gotten a lot of cooperation needed to be able to put all this together. My hope is that you’ll want to get to know these amazing musicians as well as learn a bit more about the music that inspires them to dedicate their lives to creating and communicating to us via this art form. My other hope is that maybe this week’s worth of blog posts will entice some of you to join me for a night at the symphony! If an extra one or two of you decide to try out a concert, then it will have been worth it. If an extra 10-15 of you show up – that’ll be even better!

So in the meantime, have a great weekend!  I’ll see you next week!  🙂

Bring on the Horns! (Preview) – Don’t Look ‘em in the Eyes – Erin Lano – Adam Koch – Julia Rose – Gene StandleySoul of the Orchestra – Thank you! 

3 thoughts on “Bring on the Horns!

  1. Pingback: Birth and Development of the French Horn | The Trumpet

  2. What a wonderful and fun idea! (As a conductor I particularly enjoy the suggestion: “don’t look them in the eye!”) For horn theme examples of the present day, don’t leave out the haunting solo opening of the recent Star Trek movies.

    • Thanks, Chris! HA HA! A week or two ago, I posted nothing but Star Trek music that had great horn parts. While interviewing the CSO horn players, I was able to get at least two of them to play Star Trek music for me. I was able to capture one of them on video, so we’re definitely in kahoots! That solo you’re referring to is absolutely gorgeous. 🙂

Leave a Reply

