Classical Music

They’re All About Duty

The other day I was watching a few episodes  of West Wing, probably one of my favorite shows ever, though of course, nothing tops M.A.S.H, when I ran across one of the first episodes with the character Ainsley Hayes, played by Emily Procter (probably better known as Calleigh Duquesne on CSI: Miami).

In this episode, she moves into her basement office at the White House, and has a not-so-great first day.  Throughout the episode, however, several references are made to Gilbert and Sullivan’s H.M.S. Pinafore.

“It’s from Penzance or Iolanthe, one of the ones about duty.”

“They’re all about duty.”

“Were you the recording secretary of the Princeton Gilbert and Sullivan Society for two years?”

He is an Englishman!

I saw H.M.S. Pinafore for the first time (ever) last June with the Opera Columbus and though I haven’t yet seen Pirates of Penzance, I look forward to seeing it next March.  In the meantime, I just won’t pass up an opportunity to tie Gilbert and Sullivan to a Sci Fi movie or great political drama!

It’s my duty!

Leave a Reply

