Classical Music

Hybrid Vigor: Part III

24 August 2013 update: Hybrid Vigor’s Indiegogo fundraising campaign ends at 23:59 (i.e. just shy of midnight) tomorrow night, Sunday, August 25!  Please read this to learn about them, then visit their fundraising link either here, or at the end of this post, to support them as best you can.  Even sharing this post, tweeting about them or linking this page on FB will help!  Thanks!

Last summer, I learned of an independent film’s being made over in eastern Europe, in a tiny country called Latvia.  Not sure where that is? That’s OK – a lot of people don’t.  It’s a small country in northeastern Europe in a region known as the Baltics, in between Estonia and Lithuania.

lg-map Having spent 3 years of my life in eastern Europe, in a tiny country in the Balkans of southeastern Europe called Bulgaria, I was naturally drawn to this project.  Eastern Europe is beautiful, so rich in culture and colorful and oh so hospitable.  Of course, I had to check this out. For the longest time, I didn’t even know what kind of movie it was.  It’s going to be a scary movie, (Yikes!) but also very intense and very dramatic.

I can’t wait to see it!

At the helm is Director – Writer – Producer Brandon Fowler who is the driving force behind this entire movie.  I don’t know him.  I’ve never met him.  I’ve only ever conversed with him via Twitter.  He seems like a great guy who’s very determined to do what he loves, which is making movies. I know he’s already talking to the folks at the Drexel Theater in Bexley, here in Columbus, for a supporter movie screening.

What supporters, you ask?  People like me.  People like the other 1000+ people who have already supported the making of this movie.  Last summer, I ended up supporting their Kickstarter campaign.  I donated about $25-30, tops.  But so did a lot of other people.   Small donations are not just for politicians during political campaigns.  They’re for supporting the arts.  This is a crowd funded picture, which means it’s financed solely by a bunch of strangers around the world (37+ countries so far) who have decided to pitch in $5-10-20-50 to support this independent film that’s being made literally across the world.  Check out this teaser trailer.

Hybrid Vigor has embarked on another fundraising campaign this summer to raise money for post-production – sound and effects editing, film editing, musical score – and it looks like Brandon’s been doing some great work because he has some very talented people willing to help out.  He just needs to raise the balance of the money.

Here’s a link to their Indiegogo page which will give you an update on how they’re going so far and what’s in the plans for the big finish. There’s a video at the top of the page which I invite you to check out. It’ll explain a lot about the movie and the plans to finish the movie.  It looks really good, albeit a bit scary – a genre of film that’s a tad out of my comfort zone – but I’m supporting it anyway!  (even if I have to hold my hands over my face when I finally watch it!)

Hybrid Vigor Indiegogo Fundraiser Page

You want to support the arts?  Here’s your big chance and don’t worry about how much you donate because every little bit helps!  I’ve already pitched in another $10 or so.   It’s great the way it’s set up, too, because you can get film credits, a digital copy of the movie – even a walk-on part!  Want to be on screen?  Here’s your big chance!  Wow – would I ever love to head out to Riga, Latvia!  Even if I weren’t on screen I’d love to visit there and serve lunch to the cast and crew just to say I had a part in making it happen.

Think  you can help out as well?

Remember – there are no corporate sponsors here.  Jerry Bruckheimer isn’t here to say – “Hey – I like this.  Have a couple hundred million dollars to make this!”  No – they started filming based on an initial fundraiser that yielded about $50K – less than that actually, once all the credit cards that could be processed were processed.  Unfortunately, the downside to crowd funding is that the charges need to be processed within seven days and sadly, over $10K in pledges didn’t get processed within the 7 days required at the close of a Kickstarter campaign.

It’s tough, but this film is being made anyway.  That bit of bad news didn’t stop them, which I think is really cool. One thing I learned while living in Eastern Europe is that the people there are incredibly resilient.  If they can’t afford something, they’ll find a way to do it anyway and that’s exactly what is being done here.

Support Hybrid Vigor

I like what Brandon put on his page:

There are 13 days left to raise $100,000.  If the numbers look low, they did last summer, too, because a lot of people waited until the last minute to donate and then he received pledges that topped his goal by another $7K.  They made their goal to be able to film the movie.  Now their goal is to be able to finish it – well!  As of August 3, there are 22 days left in this fundraiser.

So what do you say?  Help them out?

Support Hybrid Vigor

Hybrid Vigor Official Website

Leave a Reply

