Columbus Symphony Orchestra

Boom, Chocolate-uh Boom

Last evening I had the pleasure of seeing our Columbus Symphony perform again at the Ohio Theater.  While last week’s performance was Beethoven’s 9th Symphony, (an amazing performance and if you weren’t there, you really missed out). this week’s included music by Glinka, Tchaikovsky and Schubert.

This week, in what was officially the first concert of the Masterworks season, we were treated to a super fun (and super good) performance of Tchaikovsky’s Piano Concerto No. 1 in B-flat Minor by a talented young soloist, Ms. Nareh Arghamanyan.  Originally from Armenia and trained in Vienna, her interpretation of this piano concerto was wonderful.  It looked like she had a lot of fun playing it, too!

In a pre-concert music lecture by Christopher Purdy of WOSU radio, he said that Tchaikovsky’s piano concerto was not originally well-received in Moscow, but was in America.  Of course, he also said that the first two minutes were considered really weird and were especially disliked. In the interest of full disclosure, I didn’t like that part either.  My favorite movement was the third.  🙂

After intermission, the entire second half of the concert was by Schubert: his 9th (?) Symphony, also known as the “Great” Symphony – something that was never performed until about 20 years after his death.  This one, I really liked.  I liked it a lot!

You may remember that I wrote about the CSO in September because I was excited about being able to return to the symphony and excited as well about seeing our new music director.  Well, a violinist named Holly Mulcahy commented on my blog which started an ongoing conversation.  A few weeks later, she referenced my blog, and my excitement of the new season, in her monthly column called Neo Classical.  Her article was called Twitter Seats and Knitter Seats.  How appropriate for me, right?  Holly was the acting Concertmaster of the Columbus Symphony this weekend, so I’m excited about having heard her play.  I also had the pleasure of meeting her in person after the concert.  She’s very nice and I hope for an opportunity to hear her play again.

Earlier this week on Holly’s Facebook page, one of her musician friends made the following comment:

One warning: please avoid repetitive stress injury in the last movement of the Schubert. (boom, chickeda..boom ad infinitum).”

Apparently I’m rather susceptible to suggestion because during that final movement, I kept hearing “boom chickeda boom chickeda boom” in my head!  HA!

Waiting on my seat when I arrived inside the Ohio Theater was a welcome and thank you card from the symphony for me as a season ticket holder.  Attached to it was a piece of chocolate.  Well, chocolate makes me happy, so maybe the next time I hear Schubert’s Great Symphony, I’ll actually hear “Boom, chocolate-uh boom chocolate-uh boom!”

Holly wrote (facetiously, I’m sure) about how orchestras might start considering seats for knitters.  For the record, I have yet to pull out a knitting project at the Symphony.  Sure I could knit to the beat, but I’m…uh…no.  I can knit and listen to music at home, but I don’t want to distract myself from a live performance.

Although – the faster the music, the faster I knit and with the William Tell Overture on next weekend’s program at the Southern Theater, I could probably make some good progress on these socks!

Hmm…I’ll have to think about that idea!

Leave a Reply

